Eight District 214 educators shine as innovators

When she was superintendent, Dr. Elizabeth Ennis encouraged new and creative methods for improving student learning and achievement.

To recognize the innovation that was initiated and flourished under Ennis, District 214’s sixth superintendent, the Board of Education in 2005 created an award in her honor.

Each year, every District 214 school nominates one individual for the award. A District committee – comprised of a Board of Education member, principal, support staff, licensed educator and central maintenance personnel – reviews each of the nominations and selects a recipient for the Dr. Elizabeth A. Ennis Award.

This year’s recipient is Dan Weidner. All nominees were celebrated this spring, at their schools and during a District-wide employee recognition program. Read the stories of how each individual has created innovative programs and practices that enhance education and help students find success.

IMG_1321 copy.jpg

Dan Weidner

District 214


Peter King

The Academy at Forest View

IMG_8728 copy.jpg

Jackie Randall

Elk Grove High School

IMG_8237 copy.jpg

Mike Riedy

Prospect High School


Melissa Sang

Buffalo Grove High School


Doug Millsaps

Rolling Meadows High School

Screen Shot 2019-05-20 at 9.37.05 PM.png

Chad Freeman

Hersey High School

WHS logo.png

Frank Caballero

Wheeling High School